Euro coins

Euro: the coin of European Monetary Union countries

Euro of Austria Euro of Austria Euro of Belgium
Andorra Austria Belgium
Euro of Cyprus Euro of Estonia Euro of Finland
Cyprus Estonia Finland
Euro of France Euro of Germany Euro of Greece
France Germany Greece
Euro of Ireland Euro of Italy Euro of Ireland
Ireland Italy Latvia
Euro of Ireland Euro of Luxembourg Euro of Malta
Lithuania Luxembourg Malta
Euro of Monaco Euro of Netherlands Euro of Portugal
Monaco Netherlands Portugal
Euro of San Marino Euro of Slovakia Euro of Slovenia
San Marino Slovakia Slovenia
Euro of Spain Euro of Vatican  
Spain Vatican  

Euro coins issued by the European Union are eight, with values from 1 cent, 2 cents, 5 cents, 10 cents, 20 cents, 50 cents and 1 and 2 euro.

Concerning the metal with which the coins are made, it is possible to distinguish three groups of coins:

All euro coins have a common face of the back, while the obverse is different for each nation. The common side of euro coins was designed by Luc Luycx, Belgian Mint, winner of the competition at European level for the design of the coins. On the common face are represented three different maps of Europe, surrounded by 12 stars recalling the founding countries of the European Union. Following EU enlargement, the common side has been changed to coins from 10 cents to 2 euro, eliminating the border to the east.

The national side of euro coins, instead, shows different images for each nation, surrounded by a series of 12 stars of the founding countries of the European Union. The countries currently emitting euro coins are 23.

As a result of a recommendation from the European Central Bank of 3 June 2005 imposing presence on the national sides of euro coins intended for circulation of the name of the issuing State or its abbreviation, the currencies of Austria, Belgium, Finland, Germany and Greece had to change the design of their national side, something made in 2007 from Finland and other countries in 2008.

With regard to the characteristics of each coin, we have:

Following the difficulties in handling due to their small size, since 2002 in Finland and the Netherlands in 2004 coins from 1 cent and 2 cents are no longer in circulation and are produced only for packaging for collectors.

With regard to the inscriptions on the edge of the 2-euro coins, these are:

In addition to the normal circulation coins and collector coins from different countries were also minted several commemorative 2-euro coins, which recall events or characters of interest for each country or the EU as a whole.